NEXT EVENT

Sunday October 25th @3pm The Hakim Littleton People's Tribunal — Online with Facebook Live

OCTOBER 2020

  1. Saturday October 24th @2pm — 52700 Van Dyke Ave, Shelby Twp //March Against Racism and Police Brutality with S.H.I.F.T. //Breaking: Shelby police brutalize and arrest five. video (1) (2)
  2. No March
  3. Thursday October 22 @5pm //Call into the Annual Budget Meeting for public comment and demand that the City of Detroit defund and demilitarize the police.
  4. Wednesday October 21 //Phone-Zap: Demand that DPD release cars seized from protest volunteers.
  5. No March
  6. Monday October 19th //Phone-Zap: Demand that DPD release cars seized from protest volunteers.
  7. Sunday October 18th @4pm — Voigt Park //Mass Meeting for the Movement.
  8. Saturday October 17th @4pm March Against Police Brutality — DPD 4th Precinct //March Against Police Brutality. Drop the charges against 3 men beaten by DPD. video (1) (2) (3) (4)
  9. No March
  10. No March
  11. Wednesday October 14th @11am — Frank Murphy Hall of Justice //Picket at the prosecutor's office. Drop the charges against the victims! Hold the police accountable! video (1) (2) (3) //Phone Zap: Call-in to Prosecutor Kym Worthy’s office to drop charges against three men beaten by DPD.
  12. Tuesday October 13th //Phone Zap: Call-in to Prosecutor Kym Worthy’s office to drop charges against three men beaten by DPD.
  13. No March
  14. Sunday October 11th @4pm — St. Hedwig Park // Mass Meeting for the Movement. video (1)
  15. Saturday October 10th @5pm — St. Hedwig Park //March Against Police Brutality. Drop the charges against 3 men beaten by DPD. video (1) (2) (3)
  16. Friday October 9th @5pm — St. Hedwig Park //March Against Police Brutality. video (1) (2) (3)
  17. No March
  18. No March
  19. Tuesday October 6th //Breaking: Three men brutalized by DPD and given various charges. Learn More → //Press Conference. video (1)
  20. No March //Join DWB at Liberation Mondays.
  21. Mass Meeting cancelled due to rain //Visit us at the Liberation Festival at General Baker Institute.
  22. Saturday October 3rd @4pm — Weigand Park, Warren //March with Black residents of Warren against recent racist attacks, with the South Warren Alliance of Radical Movement (SWARM). video (1)
  23. No March
  24. No March
  25. September

  26. No March //Breaking: Warren man faces criminal charges in hate crimes against Black family.
  27. Tuesday September 29th @10am //Phone Zap and Car Caravan: Demand City Council rejects approving a contract renewal for DPD to use facial recognition software. video (1) @3:15pm //Coalition Press Conference: LIVE from Warren City Hall. statement (1) video (2)
  28. No March
  29. Sunday September 27th @6pm — Corrigan Park //Mass Meeting for the Movement. video (1)
  30. Saturday September 26th @4pm — 20701 E 8 Mile Rd, St Clair Shores //March for Priscilla Slater. video (1) (2) (3)
  31. Friday September 25 @7pm — 3rd and Michigan video (1) (2) (3)
  32. No March
  33. Wednesday September 23 @6pm EMERGENCY MOBILIZATION — Michigan and 3th Street //Breaking: No officers are charged for the murder of Breonna Taylor. statement (1) //March and Rally. video (1) (2) (3) (4)
  34. Tuesday September 22 @10am //Phone Zap: Call on City Council to vote NO on renewing the facial recognition contract. @6pm — Corrigan Playground video (1) (2) (3)
  35. No March
  36. Sunday September 20 @6pm — Brush Park //Mass Meeting for the Movement //Breaking: Judge extends DWB’s restraining order against DPD until the end of the lawsuit. video (1) (2)
  37. Saturday September 19 @4pm — 26417 Hoover Rd, Warren //March with Black residents of Warren against recent racist attacks, with the South Warren Alliance of Radical Movement (SWARM). video (1) (2) (3) (4)
  38. No March
  39. No March
  40. No March
  41. No March
  42. No March //Join DWB at Liberation Mondays. //Phone-Zap: Demand that DPD release cars seized from protest volunteers.
  43. Sunday September 13 @6pm — James T Hope Park //Mass Meeting for the Movement. video (1)
  44. No March //Join DWB at the march to rename Indian Village with Waawiyaatanong Resurgence. video (1) (2)
  45. Friday September 11 @7pm — 3rd & Michigan video (1) (2) (3) (4)
  46. No March
  47. Wednesday September 9 @6pm — James T Hope Park video (1) (2) (3)
  48. Tuesday September 8 @6pm — James T Hope Park video (1) (2)
  49. Monday September 7 @7pm — Clark Park //Presenting the documentary Finally Got the News. video (1)
  50. Sunday September 6 @6pm — Brush Park //Mass Meeting for the Movement.
  51. Saturday September 5 @6pm — 3rd & Michigan — DAY 100!!! //Day 100! Day 100 Video → video (1) (2) (3)
  52. Friday September 4 @7pm — 3rd & Michigan //DWB granted a temporary restraining order against DPD. //Breaking: Another Black man wrongfully arrested due to facial recognition. video (1)
  53. Thursday September 3 @11am — 11530 Flanders St //Coalition Press Conference: Over 35 organizations gather and call for the resignation of Detroit Police Chief Craig. video (1) @6pm — 477 Michigan (McNamara Federal Building) //Rally and March. //Support: DWB Lawsuit Fundraiser. View →
  54. Wednesday September 2 @6pm — 3rd & Michigan video (1) (2) (3)
  55. Tuesday September 1 @6pm — 3rd & Michigan //DWB files a lawsuit against the City of Detroit. Statement → //Phone Zap: Call the Dept of Neighborhoods to get our volunteers’ cars back. video (1) (2) (3)
  56. August

  57. Monday August 31 @12pm — 231 W Lafayette Blvd //Press Conference in response to police brutality. video (1)
  58. Sunday August 30 @6pm — Clark Park //Mass Meeting for the Movement. video (1) (2)
  59. Saturday August 29 @11am — Dean Savage Park //Labor Solidarity March and Lunch, with Detroit Labor Unions. video (1) (2) (3)
  60. No March
  61. No March
  62. Wednesday August 26 @6pm — 3rd & Michigan //March for the resignation of Chief Craig and the end of Operation Legend //Phone Zap: Free volunteers' cars captured by DPD. video (1) (2) (3)
  63. No March //Join DWB at BAMN’s Solidarity March with Jacob Blake and the people of Kenosha.
  64. Monday August 24 @6pm Clark Park //Mass Meeting for the Movement. video (1)
  65. Sunday August 23 @6pm — 3rd & Michigan //Gathering in the wake of Saturday’s police brutality. video (1)
  66. Saturday August 22 — 477 Michigan (McNamara Federal Building) //MI Statewide Day of Action: Demand withdrawal of federal troops criminalizing and terrorizing Detroiters. video (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) //Breaking: Protesters are brutalized by DPD. View →
  67. No March //DWB on why we say "Feds Out Now." Read →
  68. Thursday August 20 @6pm — Veterans Park, Hamtramck //Justice for Yemen March, with Yemeni Liberation Movement, Palestinian Youth Movement, and Anakbayan Detroit. video (1) (2) (3) //Breaking: Officer and Deputy fired in Priscilla Slater investigation.
  69. Wednesday August 19 @6pm — Veterans Park, Hamtramck //Justice for Yemen March, with Yemeni Liberation Movement, Palestinian Youth Movement, and Anakbayan Detroit. video (1) (2) (3) //Closing statement by Tristan Taylor. Read →
  70. Tuesday August 18 @6pm — Bennet Playground //Phone Zap: call Judge McConico at 36th District Court to demand a reinstatement of the eviction moratorium. video (1) (2)
  71. Monday August 17 @6pm — Bennet Playground
  72. Sunday August 16 @5pm — Clark Park //Mass Meeting for the Movement. video (1)
  73. Saturday August 15 //Fascists are not welcome in Michigan! Out to Kalamazoo to counter-protest the Proud Boys group. video (1) @6pm — 477 Michigan (McNamara Federal Building) //Solidarity March Against Fascism. (video 2) (3) (4)
  74. Friday August 14 @7pm — 477 Michigan (McNamara Federal Building) Rally and March — Detroit needs federal funds NOT federal agents. statement (1) video (1) (2) (3) (5)
  75. Thursday August 13 @6pm — 6840 McGraw //Southwest Solidarity March. video (1)
  76. Wednesday August 12 @6pm — 6840 McGraw //Southwest Solidarity March. video (1)
  77. Tuesday August 11 @6pm — 6840 McGraw //Southwest Solidarity March. video (1)
  78. No March //Join DWB at Liberation Mondays, featuring a music performance by Jae Bass. video (1) (2)
  79. Sunday August 9 @3pm — 18100 Meyers Rd (Northwest Activities Center) //Anti-eviction canvassing, with Solidarity in Defense, Detroit Renter City, and Detroit Eviction Defense. @5pm — same location //Mass Meeting for the Movement. video (1)
  80. Saturday August 8 @5pm — 14749 Alber St, Dearborn //Rally and March against the annexation of Palestinian land by Zionist Israel and the global impacts of the military industrial complex, with Palestinian Youth Movement. statement (1) video (1) (2) (3) (4) (5)
  81. Friday August 7 @7pm — 477 Michigan (McNamara Federal Building) //Rally and March — Detroit needs federal funds NOT federal agents. video (1) (2) (3)
  82. Thursday August 6 @5pm — 477 Michigan (McNamara Federal Building) video (1) (2) (3) (4)
  83. Wednesday August 5 @5pm — Jefferson & Mt. Elliot (Rosa Parks Federal Building) video (1) (2) (3)
  84. Tuesday August 4 @5pm — Jefferson & Mt. Elliot (Rosa Parks Federal Building) video (1) (2) (3) (4)
  85. Monday August 3 @7pm — 2701 Bagley St (Plaza Aztlan) //Join DWB at Liberation Mondays. video (1)
  86. Sunday August 2 @5pm — San Juan and 6 mile //Mass Meeting for the Movement.
  87. Saturday August 1 Saturday August 1 @4pm — Rosa Parks Federal Building //Rally and March to denounce federal troops in Detroit, with 20+ people and organizations in partnership. video (1) (2) (3) //DWB on how state violence doesn't solve gun violence. Read →
  88. July

  89. Friday July 31 @5pm — 477 Michigan (McNamara Federal Building) //Rally and March to denounce federal troops in Detroit video (1) (2) (3) (4) //Breaking: Grace is Being Released. The Michigan teen was detained for not doing her online coursework.
  90. Thursday July 30 @5pm — 20701 E 8 Mile //Rally and March at Harper Woods for Priscilla Slater. video (1) (2) (3) (4)
  91. Wednesday July 29 @11am — 1155 Brewery Park Blvd //Emergency Mobilization: Protest DPD's press conference on the expansion of Operation Legend. video (1) (2) @7pm — Midvale School, Birmingham //Car Caravan and Rally to free Grace from improper detention. video (3) (4)
  92. Tuesday July 28 @10am //Demand City Council votes NO on a tax incentives for an inequitable development and to support resolutions against surveillance and federal troops. @5pm — 11187 Gratiot Ave (DPD 9th Precinct) video (1) (2) (3) //Statement about DPD's recent shootings. Read →
  93. Monday July 27 @5am — 6565 Outer Dr. W (Renaissance High School) //Picket to Shut Down Summer School. We now know that 3 DPSCD students are confirmed to have tested positive for COVID-19. Organized by BAMN. video (1) //No March due to rain. //Breaking: Third DPD shooting of the month.
  94. Sunday July 26 @5pm — 8501 E Canfield (Pingree Park) video (1) (2) (3)
  95. Saturday July 25 @5pm — Butzel Family Center //Rally around gentrification and racist displacement. Organized with Charlevoix Village Association. video (1) (2) (3)
  96. Friday July 24 @5pm — 20701 E 8 Mile //March at Harper Woods for Priscilla Slater. video (1) (2) (3)
  97. Thursday July 23 @5am //Picket school busses. Organized by BAMN. video (1) @5pm — Cody High School (2) (3) (4) //The Coalition for Police Accountability and Transparency prepares video of DPD's murder of Hakim Littleton. Watch → //Breaking: Another DPD shooting occurs.
  98. Wednesday July 22 @5pm — Cody High School video (1) (2) (3)
  99. Tuesday July 21 @5pm — John R. & Edmund Pl. //Mass Meeting for the Movement. video (1) //Breaking: Federal troops in unmarked cars sighted in Detroit. View → //Breaking: Federal Judge orders Detroit Schools to test students for COVID-19.
  100. Monday July 20 @5pm — 2701 Bagley (Plaza Aztlan) //March to Liberation Monday. video (1) (2) (3) //Remember: Aiyana Mo'Nay Stanley Jones would have turned 18 today.
  101. Mass Meeting cancelled due to rain
  102. Saturday July 18 //Press Conference for Hakim Littleton #WhyDidYouStopMe. video (1) @10pm — 6 Mile & San Juan //Candlelight Vigil for Hakim. video (1) (2)
  103. Friday July 17 @5pm — 3rd & Michigan video (1) (2)
  104. Thursday July 16 @5pm — 3rd & Michigan video (1)
  105. Wednesday July 15 @6pm — Harper & 8 Mile (Kroger) //Say Her Name March for Priscilla Slater. video (1)
  106. Tuesday July 14 @5am — 8145 Greenfield (Westside Bus Depot) //Picket the school busses and protest the re-opening of Detroit schools during the pandemic. Organized by BAMN. @5pm — McNichols & San Juan //March for Hakim Littleton and the community.
  107. Monday July 13 @10am — 14301 Gratiot @5pm —3433 8 Mile //Car Caravan Two Part Call to Action. video (1) (2)
  108. Sunday July 12 @4pm — Frank Murphy Hall of Justice //Press Statement to Release Meeko Williams and fire the officers who brutalized protesters on June 10. Read → video (1) @5pm — Butzel Family Center Mass Meeting for the Movement. video (2) (3) (4)
  109. Saturday July 11 @2pm — Butzel Family Center //Anti Eviction Canvas co-organized with Detroit Renter City. @5pm — McNichols & San Juan //Press conference and march. video (1) (2) (3) (4)
  110. Friday July 10 @ RAPID CALL TO RESPONSE — 7446 McNichols Detroit //Breaking: Police kill 20-year-old Hakim Littleton. DPD brutalize protesters and target DWB members for arrest. video (1) (2) (3) (4)
  111. Thursday July 9 @5pm — 7737 Kercheval St (Butzel Family Center) video (1) (2) (3)
  112. Wednesday July 8 @5pm — 18100 Meyers Rd (Northwest Activities Center) video (1) (2) //Closing statement by Nakia R. Wallace. Watch →
  113. Tuesday July 7 @5pm — 18100 Meyers Rd (Northwest Activities Center) video (1)
  114. Monday July 6 @5pm — 18100 Meyers Rd (Northwest Activities Center) video (1) (2) (3) (4) (5)
  115. Sunday July 5 @2pm — 1121 Merrill Plaisance (Palmer Park Community Building) //Protest the Rocket Mortgage Classic at the Detroit Golf Club. video (1) (2) 6pm — John R & Edmund (Brush Park, Detroit) //Rally for Cynthia Scott.
  116. No march today
  117. Friday July 3 @5pm — DPD 4th Precinct //Car Caravan instead of a march today. It's really hot out.
  118. Thursday July 2 @5pm — DPD 4th Precinct
  119. Wednesday July 1 @5pm — DPD 4th Precinct //Open letter to City Council President Brenda Jones by DWB co-founder, Nakia R. Wallace. Read →
  120. June

  121. Tuesday June 30 @5pm — DPD 4th Precinct video (1) (2) (3) (4) (5)
  122. Monday June 29 @5pm — DPD 4th Precinct //Press Conference: Eyewitness accounts of the June 28th police brutality. statement (1) video (1) (2) //Phone Zap: Call on City Council Public Health & Safety Committee to support a resolution dropping charges against protesters.
  123. Sunday June 28 @4pm — Patton Park (Vernor Ave. and Woodmere) //Coalition March with 20+ community organizations. DPD rams cruiser vehicle into protesters. video (1) (2) (3)
  124. Saturday June 27 @3:30pm — Lakeview High School, St. Clair Shores //March for Theo Gray, murdered by police in 2018. video (1) (2) (3) (4) (5)
  125. Friday June 26 @4pm — 3rd & Michigan video (1) (2) (3)
  126. Thursday June 25 @4pm — 3rd & Michigan //Marches, Assemblies, and a Public Tribunal: How Detroit Activists Are Building Power Read → co-written with Tristan Taylor.
  127. Wednesday June 24 @4pm — 3rd & Michigan //Breaking: ACLU files a complaint against DPD after man is falsely arrested based on facial recognition AI.
  128. Tuesday June 23 @4pm — 3rd & Michigan
  129. Monday June 22 @4pm — 3rd & Michigan //Phone Zap: Call on City Council Public Health and Safety Committee to support the resolution of dropping all charges against protesters.
  130. No March, Father’s Day. //Breaking: DPD officer suspended for brutality against protesters, 11 others investigated for misconduct.
  131. Saturday June 20 @5pm — Hart Plaza //Public Tribunal: testimonials of brutality committed by the Detroit Police Department against protestors. video (1) (2) (3)
  132. Friday June 19 @4pm — 3rd & Michigan //Happy Juneteenth! March to the 313 Liberation Zone in Hart Plaza.
  133. Thursday June 18 @4pm — 3rd & Michigan
  134. Wednesday June 17 @4pm — 3rd & Michigan
  135. Tuesday June 16 @4pm — 3rd & Michigan
  136. Monday June 15 @1pm — 4300 Cadieux (Cadieux cafe) @2pm — 15825 Oakfield (Kelley playground) //Two Car Caravans //Phone & Email Zap: NO contract renewal of the facial recognition software for Project Greenlight.
  137. Sunday June 14 @4pm — 3rd & Michigan
  138. Saturday June 13 @4pm — 3rd & Michigan
  139. Friday June 12 @4pm — 3rd & Michigan
  140. Thursday June 11 @4pm — 3rd & Michigan
  141. Wednesday June 10 @4pm — 3rd & Michigan
  142. Tuesday June 9 @4pm — 3rd & Michigan //DWB leaders meet with Mayor Duggan over the list of demands.
  143. Monday June 8 @4pm — 3rd & Michigan //Finalizing the demands, followed by a march to the site of The Algiers Motel where Radical and Black liberation activists from the ‘60s forward will share their experiences and the history of Black struggle against racism and police brutality in Detroit. video (1) (2)
  144. Sunday June 7 @4pm — 3rd & Michigan //Support: DWB Fundraiser. //Solidarity Statement from: Movimiento Cosecha Ann Arbor with Cosecha Detroit. Watch →
  145. Saturday June 6 @4pm — 3rd & Michigan //Compilation of week one of Detroit protests. Watch →
  146. Friday June 5 @4pm — 3rd & Michigan
  147. Thursday June 4 @4pm — 3rd & Michigan //Detroit Will Breathe is formed, and the list of demands is drafted by the public at the assembly.
  148. Wednesday June 3 @4pm — 3rd & Michigan //Detroit shows out in high numbers to stand with protesters who were brutalized in the previous night’s attack. The city has no choice but to lift the curfew.
  149. Tuesday June 2 @4pm — 3rd & Michigan //Over a hundred people are brutalized and arrested by Detroit Police for protesting after a curfew. After arrests, police employ Little Caesars Arena as an intermediate jail.
  150. Monday June 1 @4pm — 3rd & Michigan
  151. May 2020

  152. Sunday May 31 @4pm — 3rd & Michigan
  153. Saturday May 30 @4pm — 3rd & Michigan
  154. Friday May 29 @4pm — 3rd & Michigan //Detroit and national protests follow the murder of George Floyd by Minneapolis Police. Protests demand justice for the vicious murder, and a movement rises to the challenge and responsibility of fighting racism and police violence.